What’s The Difference Between Being Vegan And Vegetarian?

More and more people are choosing to not eat animals: many for reasons of health, some are ethically or environmentally motivated. Being vegetarian or vegan is no longer niche.

It is becoming increasingly mainstream – polling from 2016 shows there are in excess of half a million vegans in the UK, a number that is expected to rise. Despite this burgeoning interest, some people aren’t sure what the two options involve – and what the differences are. Broadly speaking, vegetarians simply do not eat animal flesh. The Vegetarian Society defines a vegetarian as follows: “A vegetarian is someone who lives on a diet of grains, pulses, legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits, fungi, algae, yeast and/or some other non-animal-based foods (e.g. salt) with, or without, dairy products, honey and/or eggs. “A vegetarian does not eat foods that consist of, or have been produced with the aid of products consisting of or created from, any part of the body of a living or dead animal. This includes meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, insects, by-products of slaughter or any food made with processing aids created from these.”

Prev1 of 3Next